qdPM Extended
project management software for growth
qdPM Extended based on free version of qdPM and has extended functionality and extra features read more.
Home About What's New? Features Demo Buy Now Translations Bug Report Forum Blog Contact Us

Project Template

<<

BruceLee

Posts: 10

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 4:01 pm

Post Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:17 am

Project Template

HI,

last year in october you answered to MarcS:
MarcS wrote:8. Global Patterns and Project Templates. It would be great to be able to set up global patterns, similar to default phases, and project templates. In our case, for example, when we develop a new product we have the same set of tasks that need to be completed each time. I think we can manage currently by copy functions, but it would be nice to have some type of template system for projects and tasks when the same items need to be performed every time a new product is made. Also, pattern grouping for when there are many patterns but they are different based on a project type, having grouping would be great (drop down function can potentially expand with sub menus or similar)

have plan to add function to copy whole projects with tasks, phases etc, so there will be possible to create project as template and copy it


Any progress on that one?
Thanks
<<

qdPM_Support

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 531

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:44 pm

Post Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:05 am

Re: Project Template

at the moment we decided not do it because there is function to copy multiple tasks from project to project
<<

BruceLee

Posts: 10

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 4:01 pm

Post Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:24 pm

Re: Project Template

ok, thanks for the feedback
<<

rami.hachem

Posts: 7

Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:46 am

Post Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:48 am

Re: Project Template

We would appreciate it if you reconsider.

We have the same situation where we gave projects that need to have the same tasks to be done each time.

Maybe a template section where you create a project with its tasks and when the time comes to use that project, there will be a way to copy the template project to the current list of projects.



Thanks
Rami
<<

ozeworks

Site Admin

Posts: 264

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:06 am

Post Sun Sep 21, 2014 12:57 am

Re: Project Template

Again this is not something we plan to do.

As a workaround you can create a project called Template and you can assign these tasks to it. When you create a new project, you can copy its tasks to your new project.
<<

BruceLee

Posts: 10

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 4:01 pm

Post Sun Sep 21, 2014 5:39 am

Re: Project Template

HI Rani,

unfortunately it is not planned as you have read. I hope it will be in v4 or v5.
As an info for you:
Currently I'm creating projects with the same tasks over again by using db imports to avoid millions of clicks.
Maybe that helps you
<<

ozeworks

Site Admin

Posts: 264

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:06 am

Post Fri Sep 26, 2014 1:14 pm

Re: Project Template

BruceLee

You can do a bulk copy of tasks from one project to another so I am wondering why you are not using that function? Or even the excel import/export?

Also can you tell us what kind of project you are doing that you could be copy bulk tasks from one project to another?
<<

Johni Patino

Posts: 1

Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:52 am

Post Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:54 am

Re: Project Template

We would appreciate it if you reconsider.

We have the same situation where we gave projects that need to have the same tasks to be done each time.

Maybe a template section where you create a project with its tasks and when the time comes to use that project, there will be a way to copy the template project to the current list of projects. :geek: :ugeek:





__________________________
Yo Yo Espanol..!!
<<

shapatan

Posts: 1

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 2:22 am

Post Thu Apr 23, 2015 2:26 am

Re: Project Template

When you create a new project, you can copy its tasks to your new project.???


Prep4sure CCNA
<<

acdigital

Posts: 22

Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 3:05 am

Post Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:21 pm

Re: Project Template

If not template based, is there a function to clone a project and re-name it?
Next

Return to Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.